Robredo establishes special units within PNP, BFP and BJMP to manage retirement benefits of personnel

THIS week, Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse M. Robredo established a special unit within the Philippine National Police, the Bureau of Fire Protection, and the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology. The unit, named the Retirement and Benefits Administrative Service, will focus on managing and administering fund releases for retirement, separation, and pension benefits of retirees from the said offices. It shall be under the functional supervision of the respective Directorates for Personnel of the PNP, BFP, and BJMP.

EDITORIAL: Diretso sa Tao

As Budget and Management Secretary Butch Abad has pointed out, the zero-based budgeting approach continues to be used to reduce or even eliminate funding for programs and projects that are irrelevant, inefficient or that are not aligned with the KRAs. If 2010 was the year of “Paggugol na Matuwid,” this year, as zero-budgeting becomes a habit, we can say the national budget’s orientation will be to make sure funding and services will be “diretso sa tao.”

Paje outlines more clean air efforts as Phl scores international high marks for controlling air pollution

Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Secretary Ramon J.P. Paje said that the Philippines has gained international high marks for its efforts to control air pollution. As the country has made a lot of progress in its efforts to clean the air since the enactment of the Philippine Clean Air Act (Republic Act 8749), Paje said that, “It is no surprise, then, that Yale University in 2010 gave us a fairly high grade in the air pollution criterion of its annual Environmental Performance Index (EPI).”

Lifeliners continue to enjoy discount in energy rate

THE Department of Energy (DOE) expressed its full support for the signing of the extension of the Lifeline Rate for marginalized power customers, and the extension of the term of the Joint Congressional Power Commission (JCPC), as the President signed it into law last June 21, 2011 at Malacañang.