Below is a list of official names of the presidents of the Philippines. The names indicated are the ones used in Executive Issuances they signed.

Benigno S. Aquino III
Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo
Joseph Ejercito Estrada
Fidel V. Ramos
Corazon Aquino
Ferdinand Marcos
Diosdado Macapagal
Carlos P. Garcia
Ramon Magsaysay
Elpidio Quirino
Manuel Roxas
Sergio Osmeña
Manuel L. Quezon

Names and titles of persons can be seen in staff and editorial boxes. Names are usually set in bold and can sometimes be in all capitals or in title case. However, titles should be set without a comma between the title and the department, and, sometimes, after the institution/organization, and instead should be replaced with “of.”


Old format New format
Juan de la Cruz
Secretary, Department of Health
Juan de la Cruz
Secretary of Health
Juan de la Cruz
Director, Bureau of Agricultural Research
Juan de la Cruz
Director of the Bureau of Agricultural Research
Juan de la Cruz
Chief, Research, Publications and Heraldry Division
Juan de la Cruz
Chief of Research of Publications and Heraldry Division

Also, if the name of the President needs to be included, the phrase “Republic of” in the title should be omitted. (The Constitution specifically states that the official title of the Chief Executive is “President of the Philippines.”)


Old format New format
Juan de la Cruz
President, Republic of the Philippines
Juan de la Cruz
President of the Philippines

Commas are not needed in names that have suffixes such as Jr. and Sr., and roman numerals, for example, III.


Alexander Santos III
Robert Thompson Jr.

However, for inverted names, a comma should come before the suffix.


Santos, Alexander, III
Thompson, Robert, Jr.

*Note also that suffixes are only used together with the full name, never with the surname only.


Chinese, Japanese, and Korean names generally share the same format: last name, first name.


Chinese Yan Chengxu
Zhu Xiaotian
Chung Chai Lee
Japanese Matsumoto Jun
Miura Daichi
Hamasaki Ayumi
Korean Kwon Ji Yong
Bae Yoong Jun
Kim Se Jong

*Vietnamese names, however, have a different format: Family name, Middle name, First name. So, when abbreviating the name “Truong Tan Sang,” it should be “Mr. Truong,” not “Mr. Sang.”

Titles of nobility come without attachments to offices, such as that of a president or an admiral. They are always a part of a person’s name, whether inherited or bestowed, and are capitalized.

Prince Charles and Princess Diana

the Duke and Duchess of Windsor

However, these titles are set in lowercase when used alone as a short form of the name.

the prince and princess

the duke; the duchess

These titles are also capitalized when used with a name and are set in lowercase when used alone.


the pope Pope Benedict XVI; Pope John Paul II
the cardinal Cardinal Sin
the archbishop Gaudencio Rosales
the major general Major General Emmanuel Bautista
the lieutenant general Lieutenant General Arturo B. Ortiz
the rear admiral Rear Admiral Danilo M. Cortez
the professor Professor Minerva McGonagall
the dean Stephen Marx, dean of the College of Liberal Arts, Stanford University; Dean Marx
the professor emeritus (masculine); the professor emerita (feminine) Professor Emeritus Mauro Sakay; Professor Emerita Rosalina Sibayan
the fellows Mike Thompson, Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians; Ryan de Leon, Fellow of the Institute of Law of the Chinese Academy of Social Science

< Previous Chapter

The PCDSPO Style Guide

Next Chapter >